Roger Shah

Aliases: Roger Shah, DJ Shah, Sunlounger, Purple Mood, Savannah, Black Pearl, High Noon at Salinas, Magic Island, Global Experience and many more!

Best known for his Balearic Trance, white outfit and wireless keyboard playing on stage, German DJ/Producer Roger Shah was born on the 29th of Novermber 1972 Esslingen am Neckar and is Brother to Pedro Del Mar. Roger’s productions started to take stride in 1999 with his tracks ‘Claps’, ‘The Mission’ & ‘Tides of Time’. His first non domestic release was ‘High’ in 2003 which was signed to Nebula an imprint of Virgin Records. Since then he has gone on to release tracks on several trance labels such as Anjunabeats, VANDIT, Black Hole Recordings & Armada Music.

Roger’s discography covers many names which include 15 guises, 19 name variations and 21 collaborations. Roger explains he needed to work on several projects to generate the income he needed. With this he was able to gain insight into several companies and learn what they can do for him as a Producer/Artist. In recent times the number of aliases have narrowed down to a more manageable two being, Roger Shah & Sunlounger.

In 2006 Roger’s track ‘White Sands’ gained massive support from Armin van Buuren being played many times on A State of Trance and finally being featured as the opening track of the A State of Trance 2006 compilation. From here Roger’s career was launched into the highlights. In 2007 he generated great chemistry with American Vocalist Adrina Thorpe and produced one of our favourite tracks ‘Who Will Find Me’. 2008 was a magical year for Roger. It saw him create 3 monster crowd pleasing tracks including Back To You with once again Adrina, Lost ft. Zara Taylor & ‘Going Wrong’ a collaboration with Armin van Buuren & Chris Jones. Roger has produced 6 artist albums, ‘The Album’, ‘Another Day On The Terrace’, ‘Sunny Tales’, ‘Song Book’, ‘The Beach Side Of Life’ and more recently ‘Openminded!?’. He has also produced several compilation albums and created remixes for artists such as Tiesto, Armin Van Buuren, Mark Norman, York, Cosmic Gate, Josh Gabriel, Johan Gielen, System F, The Thrillseekers, Solarstone, Three Drives, Matt Darey & Oceanlab.

Every Friday Roger’s 2 hour radio show ‘Magic Island: Music For Balearic People’ airs, showcasing the latest of melodic trance in the first hour, with the 2nd focusing on Balearic and chill out music.

Page 2 of 212